On mySimon: Kidkraft Savannah Dollhouse
BNET Business Network:
BNET
TechRepublic
ZDNet
TalkBack 3 of 14:
Next »
« Previous
Wise up, Idiots
Have any of you dorks slagging off NetCraft actually heard of the company or used the anti-phishing toolbar? No, well why would that stop you commenting?

I have used the Netcraft website for a number of years - it is very useful, as it logs information about what all the websites on the internet are running. (Yes archae0, that is why it was scanning your site - it was, to the best of my knowlege, purely information gathering.)

You can go and find out what operating system and server software that a particular site is hosted on, and often what the uptime is. Which is great for getting facts about Linux vs. Windows uptime, and settling the misinformation debates that usually occur on Talkback.

Check out this page for example:
http://news.netcraft.com/archives/2005/05/01/may_2005_web_server_survey.html

As for the toolbar, I installed it on IE when it came out, and installed it on Firefox on Wednesday. I have never seen it pop-up anything, or hijack the browser in any way - it purely provides information.

Where your confusion comes from it that the toolbar provides links buttons to pages on the Netcraft website. These pages provide more information and stats about the site that you may be worried about. It is these pages that contain the banner ads. But those pages only come up when you specifically ask for them.

I can see how you misinterpreted the EULA, but you've read it wrong - my reading is that what they're trying to say is that there are banner ads on their website, and I've not seen anything in my use of the toolbar that differs from that interpretation.

You guys are free to put the toolbar in the trashcan, but I think you'd be throwing away a really useful and powerful security tool, as well as one that is pretty damn interesting.

Regards
david
Posted by: David Hamilton   Posted on: 05/27/05 You are currently: a Guest | Members login | Terms of Use

Alert moderator to an offensive message

Subscribe to this discussion via Email or RSS

My Firefox blocked installation ?  anteater | 05/26/05
Firefox didn't block it you did  voska | 05/26/05
Wise up, Idiots  David Hamilton | 05/27/05
misinformation...?- or question?  anteater | 05/27/05
No - incompetence wink  David Hamilton | 05/27/05
My original question then-still learning  anteater | 05/28/05
What did the popup say?  David Hamilton | 05/28/05
This thing is Adware! - You can't trust ANYBODY these days  BitTwiddler | 05/26/05
Thnaks for the heads-up  IT Scion | 05/26/05
Not from FF  langr | 05/26/05
Netcraft  archae0 | 05/26/05
Yes, this does contain adware!  mamacat | 05/26/05
Read the EULA properly  David Hamilton | 05/27/05
Thx  Shao | 05/30/05

What do you think?

SponsoredWhite Papers, Webcasts, and Downloads

advertisement
advertisement

SmartPlanet

Click Here